Goodbye 2015! Hello 2016!

Happy New Year darlings!!

large

I know it’s a little late to be posting about New Years but I’m going to do it anyways because why not?

Mother Earth turns another year older and so do we. Time cannot be changed nor can it be controlled. However, as human beings we can control our own actions and behavior, thus we are capable of making changes to ourselves either for the better or for worse, it is up to us.

Every New Year’s Eve we hear people talking about things they want to do and things they want to change about themselves. Those are called RESOLUTIONS. It is an opportunity to make a fresh start at the start of a new year.

I never made resolutions because I never understood what it was and what is the purpose. Few years ago, I met people who talked about it enthusiastically of how they wanted to get rid of the negatives and bring in the positives to make the new year a better one than before. They explained to me what resolutions were and that’s when I joined the bandwagon.

As far as making resolutions go, failure to achieve them comes along too. With our busy schedules we soon put our focus back into our daily mundane routines and the list would be forgotten until December when another new year come upon us. When that happens, what do we do with this year’s resolutions? Bring it to the next year! It’s easy to list them out but it is never easy to check them off the list.

Every year ever since I started out I had a list of resolutions that I wanted to accomplish, I vowed to clear them off before the year ends but failure always triumph. There’s just too many on the list so I lost my motivation when I review my list a month after making it. So this year I’m changing the way I do my resolutions. Instead of making 20 and do nothing, I would only focus on 3.

RESOLUTION #1 Be Rid of Procrastination

large (2)

If you know me, you would call me the ‘Queen of Procrastination’. To me there is always a ‘tomorrow’ for everything – assignments, laundry, that novel I never wrote and that book I never read  which I bought 10 years ago. Just so you know, that ‘tomorrow’ never came.

This behaviour is the ‘rotten apple’ in my life that I never got to dispose off for years because I procrastinated.

When I check my social media, I see my peers getting it on in life with their successful careers or running their own businesses. Every time I think to myself “Where is my success story?!”. Have I not procrastinated,  I would’ve achieved my dreams and goals just like they did.

Well there is no point crying over spilled milk. I’m unable to rewind time and re-do them. Best I start changing myself now for a better me and retire from my title as ‘Queen of Procrastination’.

RESOLUTION #2 Finish what I started

Finish Line

I never seem to see things through. Whenever I start a hobby or a project, I tend to give up easily or get demotivated half way through because I don’t have the patience to get to the end.

I never got my black belt in Taekwondo, I never finished my piano lessons and I never finished reading that book I started 3 years ago. I have tons of other hobbies that never saw the end. Looking back I would’ve been able to accomplish many things if I just finish what I started.

It’s time to change that. From now on when I start something, I will make sure that I never give up on it until the end.

RESOLUTION #3 Stop Hitting the Snooze Button

large (3)

I set my alarm to either 8 or 9 am in the morning because I believe that the earlier I get out of my bed, the more I can accomplish in a day. But thanks to the person who invented the snooze button, I just slap that button and go right back to bed. So I end up waking up at 1 pm where half my day is gone.

A reason why I’m always late for classes/work and unable to complete the tasks set for the day in my to-do list.

I don’t know when this habit kicked in and I find that it is affecting my life in a major way. It would spell trouble in the future for me when I step into the working world. Therefore, I am determined  to resolve this resolution this year.

~  ~  ~

These are my of resolutions for 2016. What are your resolutions for this year? Leave me a comment and let me know.
large (4)

Alright darlings I wish you all best of luck in achieving your resolutions this year and may we all embrace 2016, making this year the best year yet.

Love,
Aly

~ Photos from WeHeartIt & Google ~

 

Leave a Reply

