Valentines For Singles

Hello darlings ~

original

*sigh* Valentine’s Day. A day filled with love, lust and romance. A celebration of love between lovers regardless of age and race. When I think about Valentine’s Day, my mind would be filled with images of pink balloons, fluffy teddy bears and boxes of heart shaped chocolates. It is believed that Valentine’s Day belong to those who have a significant other to celebrate it with but who says that has to be true?

Granted that this is not my favourite holiday to look forward to. I dread this day to come because of my “single” status and I believe that I’m not the only one who feels that way. The thought of being alone on a day filled with love seems depressing.

Since being single for almost 5 years now, I’ve learned to come to terms with it. Instead of being all anti-valentine and feeling sad on February 14, why not embrace it and seize the day regardless of your relationship status. Life is just too short to be sad all the time!

Here are 5 tried and tested methods that is sure to make this day a better one.

1. ‘Me, Myself & I’

Who said that love is only for lovers? How about love for yourself instead. If you don’t love yourself then who will?

mani-pedi (1)

Pamper yourself on this wonderful day. Show yourself some TLC. Go on a relaxing facial or a mani-pedi session. Making yourself look good can boost up ones positive self-image. When you look good, you will naturally feel good on the inside. If you have a little bit more dough, why not book yourself a relaxing spa, it could even help with stress release after a long week of work/studies.

spa-450x337

However, if you’re on a budget or you don’t feel like spending, you can always make your own D.I.Y. spa day in the comfort of your own home. D.I.Y your own mani-pedi session, spend some time rejuvenating your cuticles or make your own home made masks with ingredients you can find in your own kitchen. I love it when I give myself a homemade mani-pedi, I feel all pretty pretty and it really helps with my self-image.

2. Shop til’ You Drop

The-Splurge-Logo-5-172

I know that some of you work really hard to rake in money, but did you ever buy something nice for yourself? Money is hard to come by these days in the current economy so every penny counts when it comes to saving for a rainy day but a mini splurge every once in awhile wouldn’t hurt.

Take this wonderful day as an excuse to buy yourself that gorgeous dress that you’ve been eyeing or that shiny new watch that caught your attention. Spend it on things that make you happy. If you don’t want to do it alone, grab a few of your buddies!LCR-20130816-200635-USA-Illinois-Chicago-LarryRicheyPhotography-Epic-Restaurant-River-North-Slagel-Farm-NY-Strip-Steak-Black-Garlic-Bordelaise-Foraged-Mushrooms-Spicy-Bok-Choy--624x412

If material items are not your thing, its always a good idea to spend it on a delicious gourmet meal that you would not dare to eat on a daily basis. You know what I’m talking about, that glazed piece of steak with mouth watering side dishes which would probably cost you at least MYR 60 a dish. Go for it don’t be shy.

3. Movie/TV Marathon

This is for all you busy people who no longer have the time to re-live your couch potato days. With the amount of work/assignments, it is easy to overwhelm yourself at the end of the day and all you can think about it your comfy bed.

Couch-Potato-Couple

Since Valentine’s this year falls on Sunday, take out those blu-rays and pop it on to the player or stream it online, have a movie marathon or binge watch your favourite TV series. Go get yourself some soda and popcorn and plop on the couch in your PJs, no one is going to judge.

Walking_Dead_Season_3_Cast

As a fellow couch potato, this is my favourite way to spend my Valentines. I’m a crazy fan for ‘The Walking Dead’ and since their mid-season episode always continue on Feb 14, I always like to re-watch the previous seasons before watching the new one. You can say I went dating with Daryl Dixon in my own head but hey don’t judge, I know you do that too haha..

4. The Art of Giving

Its a bummer not to receive anything on this sweet day, but trust me that feeling of receiving cannot compare to the feeling you feel when you give. 

Rapid-boost-marketing-charity4[1]

I did this few years ago. You know how Valentine’s Day is always after Chinese New Year? I get so many cookies that it could last me for the whole year. Instead of hording all those delicious cookies and chips, I took out a bunch and gave it to everyone I know in my university. That feeling you get when you see a smile on the other person’s face, i get all warm and fuzzy. It made me feel good which has definitely brighten up my day.

If you have some money to spend, buy a bunch of toys and visit the orphanage or better yet give them your quality time and get to know them. Just think about all the little boys and girls smiling with joy. I believe that they deserve some love, being born to this world not knowing who you belong to is just sad. If you think that no one loves you just because you don’t have a boyfriend or a girlfriend, what about them?12428608-group-of-smiling-kids-with-funny-faces-Stock-Vector-children-school-kids

5. Spend it with Friends & Family

If you don’t feel like spending this day of love alone, spend it with your loved ones. The ones that stood by you through thick and thin. They are the ones who will truly love you no matter what.

valentines-day-as-family-day

You’ve been through so much together, why not celebrate this day with them instead. Take them out to dinner or buy them gifts. Spend time with them, catching up with their lives. Show them some love because at the end of the day, they are all you’ve got.

Two years ago, I organised a Valentine’s Day dinner with a bunch of singleton friends. I wanted to celebrate this day with them since I don’t get to see some of them often and I believe that no one should be alone on this day. We shared stories and laughter together. It was the best day I’ve had. I feel our friendship and connection grew stronger.

~ ~ ~

That is it. I hope you guys have a wonderful Valentine’s Day. Leave a comment and let me know how you will spend your Valentines.

Love,
Aly

~Photos from Google~

Leave a Reply

